How often to update ubuntu with openhab

Hey guys,

I am relatively new to OpenHAB and have a ‘best practices’ question for all of you linux users out there. My OpenHAB is running on a Ubuntu server 18.04 instance. Should i keep ubuntu up to date?

I usually log in and:
-sudo apt update
-sudo apt upgrade
about once a month or more frequently if im sshing in for another reason but i know some software is sensitive to OS/package upgrades.

Your guidance is appreciated.

It depends on how you want to deal with problems. If you upgrade frequently each upgrade will be a fewer amount if changes so if something goes wrong it’s easier to pinpoint the problem. But every time you upgrade you potentially have to deal with some problem which can take more time than you have at that moment.

Personally, I upgrade a few times a week. And it’s worth noting that I’ve never run into trouble except when I’ve tried to upgrade the whole os to the next release (e.g. from Jessy to Buster).

The upgrades from Ubuntu seem to be really well tested so I would recommend you upgrade as often as you get to it.

I run tripwire on all of my machines and it sends me a report every night with all the changes to the monitor files. I have filters set up in Gmail to ignore the reports where no files changed. So I pretty much run an upgrade every time the tripwire emails start showing up in my inbox because my upgrade scripts (Ansible playbooks) perform an upgrade and reset Tripwire.

I can say that at least in the industry where I work, upgrading every 90 days is considered really frequently. Others will recommend to never ever upgrade until you are ready to rebuild. My approach runs a higher risk if something going wrong but I get to take advantage of the bleeding edge.

1 Like