How to connect generic PIRs to OpenHAB?

Hi,

I would really like to use generic PIRs with OpenHAB (not just the ones that can sit on an Arduino or RPi), like this one -Luxomat RC-plus next 230 - what ways have folks here found to do it? or perhaps an idea how to?

csm_97002_7e47f8691f

The desired functionality is that:

• the PIR’s signals to the security lights turning them on/off are intercepted by a “box” which communicates with OpenHAB
  • OpenHAB can also switch these lights on independently
  • OpenHAB knows that the lights are on or off (i.e. doesn’t have to recall the state of the PIR)

I’m new to OpenHAB and home automation in general, though I’m in the early stages of a mplete home renovation, so can run cables wherever needed.

What output or communication protocol do these have? That is the biggest factor as to how easy these would be to connect.

One easy way would be wire a sonoff in parallel this would allow openHAB to turn on and off. No feedback on the motion side though.

Yes you can, by wiring the output of the sensor to the pin 14 of the sonoff

3 Likes

Your question is overall inadequate in technical terms (I’m sorry for the rudeness)!
For clarity:
You are asking for a contact/switch to be integrated in openHAB, which as a question might be understandable for some of the openHAB users without the minimum understanding of what openHAB is!
I would like to be wrong saying this: whoever mislead you that openHAB can have you blanket covered in terms of not investing in hardware, was wrong!
The bindings themselves offer a lot of opportunities for a contact/switch to be integrated! All you need is the necessary hardware!

1 Like

Thanks! I’d not heard of Sonoff before, it looks an ideal component for my home system.

I don’t know what output or comms protocol exist in generic PIRs, nor this Luxomat one and I don’t have enough electrical knowledge to glean this from the installation manual.