How to "convert" a sitemap item to an openHAB 4 item

I am new to openHAB and I am using the UI of openHAB 4 to create my items.

I have this item example from an add-on I want to create and I have no idea how to create this in openHAB 4 UI. From the add-on description.

“For example, the following sitemap item can be used to send commands to the area and receive response status as modified color of a label:”

Switch item=areaControl label="Actions[]" mappings=[QA="Regular Quick Arm",QS="Stay Quick Arm",D1111="Disarm"] labelcolor=[Ok="green",Fail="red"]

Can somebody show me the way to create this item?

That’s not an Item definition. That’s a Sitemap element. That doesn’t define an Item. It describes how an Item appears on a sitemap.

Because it’s a Switch element with Mappings, I would assume it’s a String Item, so create it like you’d create any Item from the Model page using “add point”, or from the + icon on the Settings → Items page. If this Item is to be linked to a Channel on a Thing, you can create the Item from the Model page using “Create Points from Thing” or “Create Equipment from Thing” or from the Thing’s Channels tab where those two options are also available.

@rlkoshak Thank you for your reply. I am no sure that your solution will solve my question, but maybe it is my misunderstanding. Again, I am new to openHAB and slowly progressing.

Since my original question does not really have a straightforward migration path, I will rephrase my question and maybe it will be clearer what I need.

The Thing Channel is a simple String channel to which I can send string commands and it returns a response “Ok” or “Fail”. The author seems to create a multi state switch labelled “Actions”, the switch has three states and each state can send a string command:

“Regular Quick Arm” → Sends QA to the Channel
“Stay Quick Arm” → Send QS to the Channel
“Disarm” → Sends D1111 to the Channel

The return code will determine the color of the Label: Ok=“green”,Fail=“red”