How to create timer-like or polling rule?

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: RPI4
    • Java Runtime Environment: no clue
    • openHAB version: 3.2.0

I’m still relatively new to OH and can’t get around how to do the following:

I have a lamp, which I can turn on with a switch, a second switch and several motion detectors. On the device, which actually turns on the lamp I created an expire-timer which turns of the lamp after 5 minutes.

This is a kludge.

What I really want is that after 5 minutes after the lamp has been turned on a check is repeatedly done (every minute or so) which might turn off the light depending on some other conditions.

How to create such a rule with OH 3.2?

While writing I got the idea that a delayed cronjob-like-rule could do it I.

Generally speaking, in OH polling like this is not the best way to go about things. Because OH is event driven, for most events you don’t have to constantly check for them; you just setup a rule that responds to that event when it happens.

If you supply a few more specifics about these “other conditions” someone can probably help you get to a solution that doesn’t include the polling.

Of course, it’s also possible that this is one of those few exceptions, in which case there a several options. Here are a couple:

1. The most programmatic would be a rule that starts 5 minutes after the lamp is switched on with a timer that runs your check and reschedules itself to check again in one minute if the conditions are not met.
  2. If you are using UI rules then it is fairly easy for one rule to enable/disable another. You could have one rule that runs your checks on the cron schedule but which is disabled except for when the 5 minute after lamp rule enables it.
  3. Easiest to set up but probably least desirable would be a UI rule that runs on your cron schedule, but with a rule condition that only executes the script actions if the lamp is on.
1 Like