How to enable openhab on a cellular enabled raspberry pi

• Platform information: Openhabian

• openHAB version: 2.4
  • Issue of the topic:
    I am a beginner and I hope I am posting in the right area (apologies if not), and I have searched to see if anyone has accomplished this but I have not found anything.

I have a cellular enabled raspberry pi 3B+( by using sixfabs 4G/LTE Base Shield V2 and the EC25 Mini PCle 4G/LTE Module). I want to enable openhab in homes that do not have access to Ethernet nor WiFi (the elderly do not need internet for example). Currently openhabian is configured to look for Ethernet and you can change this to WiFi by adding the ssid of your wife network using openhabian-config . How can I configure openhab to use the cellular network from Tmobile/Sprint/AT&T for example. I can use [sudo ifconfig] to find the the current ip address on the pi once it connects to the cellular network.

Note: I realize that if im using a cellular network I would probably not be able to access the openhab UI via the local 8080. This is okay, I will write up some code that would send the data I need (most likely a SQL with the event log) via an http: request to a local server I have.

OH is not designed to be placed on the Internet directly; since your scenario is what it is you may want to place a static IP on the Pi ethernet interface and setup an OpenVPN client, or at the very least SSH tunneling. Either option you will also need to setup ufw to prevent access attempts to the Pi.

Hmm, yes that makes sense for security reasons. If I did use a vpn and used a static IP, do you then think it will work with cellular internet. I have seen some threads on securing OH to prevent access. I will also will have a password on it.

So here’s your big challenge. Let’s ignore the security problems for a moment.