How to install 3rd Party Addons - Broadlink RM Pro

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: Raspberry Pi
    • openHAB version: 2.0.0

I’m new to OpenHAB and it’s a bit of a learning curve for me. I just switched over from Home Assistant and it’s a different world with a lot of work just to get started. But then again, it’s stable and that’s what matters the most to me.

I currently have a Broadlink RM Pro that I want to connect to, So far, I have found 2 bindings which are both 3rd-party.

Broadlink-MQTT
BlackBeanControl

However, I’m unsure how to install them. So far, I did learn that you need to put the .Jar file in the addons folder. However, none of those have a .Jar releases that I can install. Maybe I’m just a noob who is out of my territory but it was lot easier on Hassio than it is on here.

What would be the best way to install them and how do I get them working? Also does anyone recommend which would be better out of those two?

Then I strongly recommend using OH 2.2 instead of 2.0. You don’t want to get started on an already outdated version.

This is a standalone program and not an OH addon. To use it you will install and run this program and test it according to however the developer documents doing. I would then manually test using an MQTT client like MQTT.fx to manually send commands and read messages just to make sure that part is working.

Once all that outside of openHAB stuff works, see MQTT Binding (v1.11) Getting Started 101 to get started using the MQTT binding with openHAB to send and receive messages to Broadlink-MQTT.

Similarly, this is not an openHAB addon. This is a standalone command line program. Follow the instructions the developer provides to install and test that it works. Once you have that working, you can use the Exec binding to call these scripts.

I personally recommend the MQTT approach. I think it will be easier in the long run to configure it that way.

Follow the instructions at the respective github repos.