How to install micronucleus to OpenHABian?

I’ve tried to flash ATTiny85 USB board to have more I2C buses on RPi4, based on this recommendation:

But micronucleus is not installed by default on habian 2.5.2.

• can not find it at Debian repo
  • Also tried to copy the main.c and makefile files from github, and run:
    sudo make makefile … and similar syntaxes, but I’m not good at Linux + C

Can someone help me please? Thanks!!

If you mean openHABian, it is just Raspbian Lite. Search the other forums for that.

Not very helpful… :frowning:
I’ve searched for 5 hours long. That’s why I’m asking now, to get help!

PS: Yes, I mean OpenHABian. IMHO that SD-card image should contain everything what could needed for newbees like me. It is very very hard to go forward, if not even a simple SWITCH or RELAY is working “out of the box” !

I thought you were basically wanting to install micronucleus on Raspbian. This forum only supports openHAB and does not keep a catalog of other packages.

Sorry again if I misunderstood. I made the assumtion you did not realize the openHABian image is just Raspbian Lite with the openHABian scripts added.

1 Like

No, I didn’t knew that. Thanks!
Although I’ve thought someone has done this before, because it would be crucial to create devices compatible with OH… and for that a special firmware is needed.

It’s also a suggestion from me how to improve the OpenHABian image:

• what is missing,
  • how could be this whole installation process turned into fun, and not a nightmare.
1 Like

There are a zillion hardware options out there, so it only makes sense that not all are supported by Raspbian/Debian with a package (pre-installed or in the repository).

To be sure we are on the same page: micronucleus is a small bootloader for the ATTiny/ATMega series of MCU’s, it’s not something that can run on a Linux system like Raspbian.