How to make a custom universial smart home enddevice with Raspi/Arduino/…?

Hello everyone,

i’m quite new to this field and totally new to this forum, but i would like to start making my own smart home devices to achieve a higher level of connectivity and comfort for my home. In particular I’m thinking of animated LED strips, a smart garage opener or sensors (e.g. weather station, motion sensor, door/window sensor), but that’s not why I’m here, as there are plenty of tutorials on the www for that.

My goal is to realize smart home devices with a Raspberry Pi, Arduino, ESP8266 or similar. These should be compatible with Alexa at least, but it would be nice to support other platforms like Philips Hue and maybe Google Home, Apple HomeKit, … It is also important to me that the devices can not only be operated by voice control, but also in the Alexa app (and at best Philips-Hue-App, Google, Apple, …), so that I can add the devices to my rooms and zones and to also control them via sliders and color pickers (which I find more user-friendly than voice control). It would also be great if I could use a single microcontroller to control several devices at the same time (devices that are placed close together). But it should be possible to register each device connected to the microcontroller separately in the smart home network as a kind of virtual device. As programming language I would prefer Python, but that is not a must-have.

For this reason, an Alexa skill would be out of question, since it only supports voice commands (as far as I know) and the devices do not appear in the Alexa app. Please correct me if I’m wrong.