How to make your home automation communicate with 433mhz devices a draft list of gateways comparison

Hello,

I intiated a list below of gateways available for 433mhz devices, it can be helpfull for beginners:

Feel free to comment

2 Likes

Thank you for compiling the list.
Do you know if this USB RF Transceiver can be controlled with OpenHAB?
https://www.amazon.com/433Mhz-Wireless-Transceiver-Transparent-Transmission/dp/B07P5FS4T7/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=usb+rf+transceiver&qid=1573319226&sr=8-1

I never tested the one in your link.
Nevertheless I can confirm that this one is able to receive RF and can ne hacked with OpenMQTTGateway :

1 Like

what about Sonoff RF Bridge ?
why is not there ?

Thank you :pray:

I’m not a programmer so I don’t have the needed technical gear or programming knowledge to flash OpenMQTTGateway on that USB stick.

Can you recommend another simple solution to add a 433MHz RF transceiver to a Raspberry Pi 4 running OpenHAB 2? (the solution doesn’t have to be USB based if it’s simple enough).
I would like to control two ceiling fans with RF remotes using OpenHAB.

In my opinion 433 can be quite painfull. There seem to be different “standard” of 433 and tons of protocols. You´ll not be able to tell, if gateway you buy will support your devices, unless its 100% specified.
I have a Sonoff RF brigde. I have a 433mhz doorbell. Sonoff can not receive the signal from this doorbell. On the doorbell it just state 433mhz… Well, thank you doorbell maker for given me an information I cant use.
Sonoff RF bridge can be flashed with yet another firmware which will change the support for more diffirent 433mhz protocols… I have not yet testet this part.

So bottomline in this.
You either need to know exactly which 433mhz your devices is supporting, or get a gateway which support the most, and hope for the best.

If you don’t want to flash or to build a gateway you can go to an off the shelf device with a binding :

1 Like