How to persist data average every 5 minutes? [solved]

Hi there,
i’m pretty new to openhab and the reason of this post is not to have a working out-of-the-box solution, but to understand how i can implement this thing:
I have a Raspberry Pi that sends over MQTT the istant values of elecricity consumption, and this works well and stores data in rrd4j persistence.
My idea is to implement InfluxDB+Grafana for better charting so my question is:
What’s the best way to store in InfluxDB the average of the istant values every 5 minutes?
I mean data starts to arrive on Openhab at xx.00; at xx.05 i have 5 minutes of data and i want to store just the average of this values.
I was thinking of stores the data from 00 to 05 minutes somewhere, and then calculate the average and stores the result on Db, but maybe there is a way to do this average on-the-fly.
What do you think? any better ideas?

Thanks in advance for your advice

You could use rrd4j for persisting data. It can be configured to store every minute in the first archive and have the average of the last five minutes in the second.
The downside is that you need to state for which timeframe you want to keep the data. Any value that is older then the stated timeframe is lost.

Are you looking for a rolling average or just an average every five minutes?

For example, a rolling average would calculate a new average every time a new value is received on the MQTT topic. An average every five minutes would set a schedule to calculate the average every five minutes no matter how many values were received.

I would let persistence do most of the work for me and let it continue to store the “raw” values and use averageSince to calculate the average based on those stored values.

Create a new Item to represent the average and persist that to InfluxDB.

Rolling Average Implementation:

• Create a rule that triggers when the MQTT Item receives an average