How to send command to mqtt broker

I am new with MQTT and wanted to test it with a network Binding.
I installed a mqtt broker and connected it to openhab.
I dont understand how can synchronize the channel with an MQTT topic.
I added a thing which show me if my smartphone is online.
network.items
Switch Smartphone { channel=“network:pingdevice:devicename:online” }
Switch SmartphoneMQTT {mqtt="<[Test123:test:state:default],>[Test123:test:command:*]"}

Now I get the right status in my basic UI. But nothing is send to my topic test. I tested it with MQTT.fx.

You are trying to use the MQTT 1 syntax for your Item but you are using the MQTT 2 binding. It looks like you’ve created a Generic MQTT Thing so all you need to do is Link the Channel to your Item. https://www.openhab.org/docs/configuration/items.html#_2-x-binding-configuration

I’m on a phone can can’t read the screenshots so I can’t comment on whether you have the MQTT Thing configured properly.

I do not understand how you would be able to test MQTT with the Network binding?
In order to use MQTT just use the MQTT binding.

From what do you get the “right status”? Without an item correctly linked to a MQTT thing you can’t be receiving any status from a MQTT thing.
Are you sure about the state-and commandtopic selected in PaperUI? Did you check with MQTTfx? You can subscribe to topics with MQTTFx and send messages as well, that way you can test if you have the correct settings for state- and commandtopic!

I just want to send a message to a topic when the state changes. So when my smartphone gets offline. I want to send a message OFF to a topic . And when my device is online, I want to send a message ON to a MQTT topic. How can I do this? I have correctly used the network binding without MQTT. I linked the item to the MQTT Item. But nothing is send to the mqtt topic.

IMHO you need to use a rule for that like:

rule "MyMQTTRule
when
    Item Smartphone changed
then