How to send local hour as a number (when it changes) from raspberry to esp8266

Hello, i am a beginner and i have some unsolved problems, so any help would be much appreciated.
I want to send (through mqtt) from raspberry the local hour as a number to a remote esp8266 every time it changes.
i have already established a communication and i can receive and send commands to the esp8266, but how can i send an integer?
I have installed NTP binding to get the hour.
Also, i have created the item:

Number TimeFromRaspberry "Time: [%d]" <time> {mqtt=">[broker:Command/Home/SeF/TimeFromRaspberry:Command..."}

but i don’t know what to write after the “Command”!

and of course a rule is needed but after many unsuccessful tries i realize i can’t write it!

Thank you in advance,
Tasos

Try

Number TimeFromRaspberry "Time: [%d]" <time> {mqtt=">[broker:Command/Home/SeF/TimeFromRaspberry:command:*:default"}

and in a rule

rule "Minute Timer"
when Time cron 15 0 * * * ?" then	{	
var Hours = now.getHourOfDay as Number
TimeFromRaspberry.sendCommand(Hours)
}  end

You may have to experiment with the number “15” in the cron statement if the time on your Raspberry is out and you find the wrong hour being sent. the “15” means it runs at 15 seconds past the hour change.
This is getting the hour from the system, which is what I do and nothing to do with the ntp binding

1 Like

Thank you very much for the reply. After some minor syntax mistakes it worked!!!

Now on the esp8266 side: how to store this number in a variable?
i will try out some things and i will update the post if come up with the solution.

1 Like

What are you trying to do with your ESP8266?

I want to turn on a LED between 5 p.m and 10 p.m.
So i need a simple comparison between numbers.
But in the code esp8266 convert every messages that receives into a string.

void callback(char* topic, byte* payload, unsigned int length) {
  // Convert the incoming byte array to a string