How to setup GC100IR binding in OH2

I’m new to openHAB. Sorry for such a basic question.

I’m trying to use the GC100IR binding in OH2. I was able to install the binding using the Paper UI, but I can’t figure out where to put the binding configuration information. The GC100IR Wiki shows the configuration taking the form:

gc100ir : {instanceName}.host = IP address of the GC100 device

In Wiki, it says to put the configuration information in openhab.cfg, but that’s for OH1. That file doesn’t exist in OH2.

https://github.com/openhab/openhab/wiki/Global-Cache-IR-Binding

Because it is a version 1 binding you need to perform these steps:

https://github.com/openhab/openhab-distro/blob/master/docs/sources/features/compatibilitylayer.md

Thank you! It is working perfectly now.

The 1.x compatibility feature was already installed, but I totally missed the part about moving the jar and copying openhab.cfg. That all seems pretty obvious now, and I suppose I should’ve been able to figure that out myself. :frowning:

One additional question. There’s a bunch of other stuff in the openhab.cfg file that I copied over from my OH1 install. Is any of that needed in OH2, or can/should I reduce the contents of the file down to just what’s absolutely needed (i.e. the GC100IR binding configuration)?

Just a note on this binding. According to the GlobalCache API documents, seems this binding should work with their whole line of products. I have a WifiIR that Im about to try, but the API specifically states that all their products use the same module / connector layouts, so this should work!

I’m using it with an iTach WF2IR and an IP2IR, so you should be good.