How to size a motor for DIY roman shade?

I’m a novice at DIY electronics at best but I am learning and I’m not afraid to learn. So here is the problem I have right now. I have an unusually large and heavy roman shade (also a DIY project) that is about six feet long and four feet tall. Almost all of the tutorials out there that I see are using stepper motors that appear they might be too weak to raise this shade.

I can easily measure the weight of the fabric and from there probably calculate the force necessary to raise or lower them, but I don’t know how to convert that into a number that I can use to choose a properly powerful stepper motor.

Everything else I think I can manage. And I can probably rig a counter weight if I just blindly choose a motor and discover it’s not strong enough. But I’d rather save that effort and choose the right motor for the job in the first place.

I have search but my google-fu does not seem up to this task or, more likely, I don’t know enough to know what to search for and understand the pages that come back to me.

Thanks!

Rich,

The power that you need is the torque (Newton.meter) times the angular velocity (radians/s = 2.pi.rotations per second). Plus you have to assume a efficiency factor of the motor and mechanics.
I hope this helps.

Regards Herman

1 Like

It helps but what units is the result of that calculation? Clearly I’ve never had opportunity to take high school physics but I did get enough match to know about that formula.

But is the weight of the roman shade the inertia and so long as the result of the power calculation which you provided is greater than the max weight of the roman shade (when raising a roman shade the weight will increase in discrete amounts) I’m OK (assuming I get the units right (NM, ft-lb etc)? I don’t remember enough to take the result of the calculation and apply it to my specific situation (i.e. raising 10 lbs four feet).