How to start developing on top of openHab + Developing My Own Rule Engine

I would like to develop my own rule engine on top of openHab. Thus i need to figure out how to interact with openHab System Directly. So any advice would be appreicated on how to get started

This begs the question what do the Rules DSL, Next Gen Rules Engine, JSR 223 rules in Jython, JavaScript, or Groovy, NodeRed, Prend, or HABApp do not provide that you would create yet another rules engine?

You best bet is to look at the OH core and OH automation repos for how they do it.

Will basically i am trying to integrate semantic rule languages such as prolog with openhab

You need an OSGi bundle deployed to karaf, openhabs OSGi environment.

Get the event bus service via reference. The event bus allows you to get notified about item changes and updates (and everything else) and allows you to change items as well.

This is all in the developer docs.

Dear david,
I appreciate your answer i am still a newbie in understanding the OSGi concepts. And actually having trouble on how to develop on top of openhab.

It sounds like you are looking more to create something like a script engine rather than a complete rule engine, so specifically look at org.openhab.core.modules.script. Although, if you built something that worked with javax.script, OH could use it.

If you are this interested why not develop with openHAB and share your contribution to everyone?..

1 Like

@Thedannymullen i don’t know what you actually mean but i am looking to develop with openHab. I am trying to build an engine on openHab that instead of using the default rule engine it goes to a software called protege that uses a reasoner to evaluate things and then take the response and apply it on openhab

@5iver what does the script bundle do??