How to upgrade from 2.3 to 2.4?

I need your help on upgrading, but I think I should start by explaining my hardware.

15 years ago, I made a major rebuild on my house before moving in. I was always looking for home automation and I work as a PLC programmer so I bought a PLC and some remote IOs and connect every light, windows’ shutters and some other stuff to the PLC. All the light switches are press buttons connected to the same PLC.

All my “rules” were programmed in PLC logic. I managed to closed all the windows at Sunset, open then at 8h in the morning except at weekends and holidays (including the ones depending on Easter), close all windows and doors at night, turning off all exterior lights at day time, etc., all without internet connection,

I needed some way to give information to the system and I couldn’t buy an HMI (wife said I had already spend too much on PLC, cabling and relays :sunglasses: ) so I add some micro-switches as PLC inputs to change our state as “Away” or to disable the automatic shutter opening in the morning if I wanted to sleep next morning.

Later I added a serial to TCP Modbus gateway and I could write in some words in the PLC thus turning a light on or off. I needed to know by heart the number of the ModBus word and bit to use the ModBus Droid App. That had 0 WAF (:roll_eyes:).

I found OpenHab on version 1.7 . The most important thing to me was (is) being able to create an easy way of “talking” to my PLC that controls the house. As you understand I started by using the ModBus binding to connect to all the lamps and shutters. Then make a nice sitemap and…voilà. I can control everything in the house from everywhere. I started in a Windows laptop and bought a Raspberry after everything was tested and running.

When upgrading to OpenHAB V2 I copied my files (items, rules, sitemaps, …) to the new installation, fiddle a little with paper UI and it was running again.