HTTP or EXEC Binding for EDMIAX Smart Plug SP-1101W?

Hi,

I´m using Edimax Plug SP-1101W with the following workaround via CMD from PC:

curl -d @EDI_On.xml http://admin:xxxx@192.168.0.20:10000/smartplug.cgi

with EDI_On.xml like:
`

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?> ON ` How can I convert this to a HTTP binding? Or exec binding? Or are there better solutions in openHAB for the use of EDIMAX plugs?

Thank you in advance for your help!

jo

PS: Sorry, I´m a total newbie with openHAB!

You cannot pass a body (i.e. your XML) using the HTTP binding so you will want to use the Exec binding. See the Exec Binding wiki page for examples and documentation for how to use it to call curl.

I recently created an own binding for my edimax SP-2101W - it may also work well with your SP-1101W, because the protocol is fairly the same. So if you’re interest check GitHub - derHeinz/openhabplugins: Plugins to openhab or contact me.

any chance to get a prepackaged .jar which can be easily used and a small tutorial? Dont have a working development enviroment for openhab.

Sure, created a release for that. See:

Thank you :slight_smile:

Did it work for you?

yes it works :slight_smile:

but a little suggestion:
i dont know why, but i dont get a discovery message, albeit seeing one in the sourcecode. If i add the configuration parameters for ping discovery it doesnt work at all, but if i remove the parameters, it works pretty well. Dunno if this is a bug or not. Maybe with the configuration parameters the normal discovery is disabled?

I suggest submitting the handler to the openhab repo. Good job!

Thanks for your comments.
I think the logger has to be configured to output messages of level like INFO. By default none of the logmessages are shown except the message is above a certain level.
Your’re right the ping discovery deactivates the udp discovery. I consider removing the ping-like disocvery completely.

1 Like

Great stuff, thank you very much! :slight_smile: