Hue Binding - Dimmer Switch

I am a complete beginner and I am just trying the Hue Binding.
I have added lamps and the a dimmer switch to the hue app (bridge), but I see only the lamps and not the dimmer switch.
Is the switch not supported or did I make a mistake?

Thanks for help!

1 Like

Which dimmer switch do you mean?

You cannot control the dimmer switch, but you can control dimming of your lights:

http://docs.openhab.org/addons/bindings/hue/readme.html

Just add the dimmer item to your sitemap and start dimming ā€¦

Dimmer Light1_Dimmer { channel="hue:0210:1:bulb1:color" } as text file or use PaperUI

Thanks,. Yes I mean this hue dimmer switch.
My problem is that the paper UI does not show this dimmer.

Only the lamps are visible as thing.
Or is the dimmer no thing?

Itā€™s a remote, not a light device. What do you want to do with it through openHAB? Remote a remote? :slight_smile:

As I said, you should use the openHAB Dimmer item to dim your lights. And of course you can use your Hue Switch Dimmer to dim your light.
But it does not make sense to dim a remote dimmer through openHAB to dim your lights ā€¦ :grinning:

Yes of course it is a remote.
But I wanted to configure the remote via openHAB.
If I press button 1 do that etcā€¦

I am using at the moment ā€œhomeeā€ and in this SmartHome Software the Hue Dimmer is also a ā€œThingā€.
And I can select the ā€œThingā€ and change the buttons.

So how can I add this Hue dimmer remote to openHAB via PaperUI so I can add a rule?
If button 1 on dimmer dimm the lights and set another ā€œThingā€ state and so onā€¦

Sorry for the stupid questions, but I am a complete newbie. I use openHAB since a few days :slight_smile:

ā€¦ maybe Iā€™m just to dumb to understand what you want to achieve :grinning:

I have the Hue Tap but Iā€™m assuming it works the same way.