I need some Ideas on how to realise my Idea of a LED Timer based on my current Location

Hello there,

I am quite new to openhab and everything considering IoT, Smart Home and so on, but everyone started from scratch once, right?

I have an Idea for a Project but I am unsure where to Start and I hope maybe to get some hints or some tipps for the right direction. My Idea is to create a LED Bar that indicates my Distance from home.

My Kids always asks my Wife “When does Daddy coming home?” and often she can’t give them an satisfying answer. So I made up an Idea on how to visualize them when I am home. My Idea is that I start a Trigger when I leave from work (Leaving a Zone or by pushing a Button) and at home a LED Bar Lights Up in Red. The LED Bar acts as a visual countdown and turns Green LED by LED as I get closer to home.

Visualizing a Timer is probably not that difficult. But I need a routine that takes my current Location, calculates the estimated time for me to reach home and transfers it into a device that starts a countdown based on that time and changes the Red LEDs Green as time passes.

The Strip shouldn’t light up all the time. When I start it should light Up to indicate that I am on my way. After a minute it should turn off and maybe there can be a Button on it which a Person could press to see the current status. After a Minute the Lights should turn off again.

As I own an iPhone, I was thinking about using a Shortcut or the app Scriptable to take my current location, pass it to google maps to calculate the time needed to get home. But I am stuck on how to get these data to a device (Raspberry Pi maybe or an ESP32).

I am not sure how this will work, as I have not tried something like it.

The GPS tracker binding will be able to track you through zones, then tie this into some ws2812b led’s running on a d1 mini, using tasmota and Mqtt

Should keep you busy for a while.

1 Like