Ikea Tradfri remote dimmer without Gateway

Hi there,

I’m using Openhab 2.4 on a RaspberryPi4 and since I’m still a student I’m using different products from different brands because I can safe a lot of money with that.

Currently I’m using Hue Bulbs, OsramSmart+ Bulbs, Aqara Doorsensors and some other stuff. Also I’ve just ordered Tradfri remote controls and a Hue Switch. Because I use so many different products of different brands I cannot afford spending all the money necessary for all the Hubs and bridges.

That’s why I’m running a Zigbee-Coordinator ( CC2531EMK Coordinator USB-Stick) controlling all the products I have wire Zigbee and I haven’t had any problems with that so far.
I just tried to connect these remote controls using the Zigbee Binding and had no problems with that. But than I realized I could only find one on/off channel but all the other channels (dimming, switching scenes) are not visible at all. I tried the Hue Switch and both Tradfri remotes but same thing there.

My question now: Is it even possible to bind an Item to these channels or is it just the on/off channel that is visible without using a gateway and just having the Zigbee-binding running?

I just searched this topic in the forum but couldn’t find it. So hopefully I don’t ask a question hat was already answered.

Thank You for your help!

It is possible to bind the ikea remote to bulbs. Only on off channel and possibly brightness. I have mine setup this way.

I use deconz though vs zigbee binding. But it is possible.

I use the ikea dimmers to control on/off and to dim/brighten my lights with zigbee2mqtt.

I already thought about that but If it’s possible I Would like to stick with Zigbee Binding because I have more than 15 products connected with this binding and I don’t want to change that all

Could You maybe explain to me how I can bind an Tradfri remote to PhillipsHue ans Osram Smart+ Bulbs? I tried that for 4 days now and it isn’t working…

Thank You for Your help!