Incorporating Matter

Hello openHAB community,

I am currently a student exploring Matter (formerly known as connectedhomeip or CHIP) and trying to figure out a way to communicate with it via code (Java).

I thought it might be a good idea to ask a few questions regarding this topic in this community.

• Is there currently work being done by openHAB to incorporate Matter?

• If not are there plans to do so?

• What would be the point of entry to the Matter system?

Using the Chip Controller or its API seems like a good idea.
However the Chip Controller is written in Python and therefor I am thinking about whether it makes sense to talk to it via Java. Does anybody maybe have a good idea on how to connect these two?
Would somebody consider using the API and write a Controller in Java (or a different programming language) from scratch or would this be assumed to much effort?

Or would the openHAB community consider the integration of Matter as too early, either due to missing products/interest or because of the current state of Matter (not being advanced enough)?

Thanks a lot in advance!

Link to Matter repo:

Link to Controller API:

I’m not a developer, but my sense is that it’s too early. I’m pretty confident that someone will want to work on Matter integration down the line, but likely not until it’s released and there are devices we can test and use.

Not that I’m aware of but the best way to find out is to look at the open issues and the WIP pull requests on the openhab-addons repo.

openHAB is an all volunteer project. Plans don’t mean much unless someone has volunteered to do it. Volunteering to create an add-on is usually done by opening an issue or WIP pull request (preferably both). Though it’s also possible to just go and code it on your own. We now have a marketplace that makes discovery and installation of such third party add-ons easier for end users.