Install, Configure, and Test Amanda on openhabian for beginners

Due to many issues with data loss and system failures, I now setup my backup solution as one of the first steps after installation, before even starting to use openHAB.

The documentation for installing Amanda using openhabian is here. In my opinion it is very detailed in some aspects that are not essential for the average openHAB user, and too sparse in other aspects more important to the task at hand. I wanted to have a working backup setup, without necessarily becoming an expert in Amanda.

Since I am not an Amanda expert, my ability to answer questions may be limited. I am also sure that there are better ways to do the things described in the tutorial, so I look forward to constructive criticism that I can incorporate to the post. Without further ado, here are the steps I followed to get Amanda working on my Raspberry Pi 3B+.

Prepare Storage for the Backups

I used an empty 500GB external USB hard drive with one ext4 partition, previously formatted using gparted on my Ubuntu machine.

• Connect external hard drive to USB on Raspberry Pi

• Create the mount directory on the RPi. I used the location /mnt/ext-storage.
    sudo mkdir /mnt/ext-storage

• Configure the RPi to automatically mount the USB hard drive on startup by editing the /etc/fstab file. This tutorial was very helpful. The new line in my /etc/fstab file looks like this:

PARTUUID=d7d8daba-01 /mnt/ext-storage ext4 defaults,auto,users,rw,nofail,noatime 0 0
  • Test that it works with sudo mount -a. The mountpoint for the USB hard drive (in my case sda1) should be visible when executing the lsblk command
NAME        MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
sda           8:0    0 465.8G  0 disk 
└─sda1        8:1    0 465.8G  0 part /mnt/ext-storage
mmcblk0     179:0    0  14.9G  0 disk 
├─mmcblk0p1 179:1    0   256M  0 part /boot
└─mmcblk0p2 179:2    0  14.6G  0 part /