Install OpenHAB on RaspBerry

Hello,

I’m new with openHAB.
I have a Raspberry Pi 4 model B, SDcard 64 Gb 3 A2.
I have followed the different steps on Download openHAB | openHAB (option 1).
After that I have plugged the RPI (nethwork (RJ45) and main (USB-C).
After waiting 1 hour, I can’t connect to the application (http://[IP address]:8080). But I can connect to it by SSH (with origin credentials).

Anybody can help me to install correctly openHAB on my RPI to access via http ?

Thanks a lot in advance.

Gvals.

See openHABian | openHAB for detailed troubleshooting instructions.

I had to reinstall the system last week due to failed USB stick and I can confirm that the downloaded openhabian does not work “out of the box”.

Long story short, I decided to clean up my installation that is usually working on SSD and I wanted to install USB from the beginning with as less possible garbage that I collected on my SSD during the years, but the whole storey got delayed so I was running my openhab from that USB and it failed in the mean time, before I managed to transfer the USB to the SSD.

There were some problems with the Java package and I had to install that one manually. This could be done via openhabian-config.

Also I noticed that there were problems with the date/time of the new installation, it didn’t update automatically so I had to set it manually.
The time was way off and the update was not functioning.

Also I found the hard way that it is not possible to restore backup from older version to a new one. Luckily most of my settings are in text format so I could recycle them

I’m sorry to hear openhabian has been a struggle for you - it’s been really smooth for me. I just installed openhabian on a Pi 4 without any trouble. Haven’t had any weird issues that weren’t of my own making.