Install OpenHab on Windows or Ubuntu?

In order to experiment with OpenHab I’ve install it on Windows 10 desktop.
Long term, I’m looking to install on a dedicated NUC that I have but I’m wondering which OS would be best to install on the NUC that will host OpenHab?
It seems OpenHab is supported well on Ubuntu but I’m a novice on that OS. I do however know Windows well.
What OS is considered best for hosting OpenHab?

Take the step and go linux.
You’ll have a learning curve but there is loads of support.
There is more support for OH on linux than Windows the main reason being that openhabian, the dedicated OH image for raspberry pi is very popular. Openhabian is a debian linux, same as Ubuntu.
I moved from Windows to linux 2 years ago myself and I have never looked back.

Go for it

1 Like

Thanks for the advice.
As regards installing on a blank NUC, which version of Ubuntu would you recommend? I’m thinking probably a Desktop variant?
I expect the Ubuntu distribution will come in the form of a ‘bootable’ disk image that I can write onto a USB stick, boot from the USB stick on the NUC and then install onto the NUC’s SSD. Is that correct?

A desktop variant will be easier for you as a beginner:

Easy peasy

1 Like

Excellent…that will do nicely.
Thanks for your help.

I’ll second the advice and recommend Linux. By far the majority of users are running on Linux. Most of the examples will assume Linux.

And you can use openHABian on an Ubuntu https://docs.openhab.org/installation/openhabian.html#manual-setup. That will handle almost everything for setting up openHAB and related services. openHABian is not just for RPis. I strongly recommend giving that a try. It will lessen the initial learning curve since it will do so much for you.

1 Like

Thanks for the advice.
Yes, I will definitely give Ubuntu a try as it does seem better supported on that OS.
Additionally, I guess a Ubuntu installation should prove more robust than Windows anyway.