Insteon PLM Fail Mode -- Best way to Install New PLM

Hey guys,

I’ve been running OH with primarily Insteon devices for a few years now. I’m starting to have some erratic behavior with some things not working, others taking a very long time to work and some lights turning on - on their own. I’ve read many comments about PLMs dying over time due to crappy caps. Wondering if this is what I’m starting to experience or if the fail mode is more binary - one minute it works another it doesn’t?

Either way - I’ve bought a new PLM. I have backups of my PLMs DB, so I’m assuming I should restore this DB onto the new device. After that I’m assuming I have to hit every device with Insteon-Terminal and use the “replace device” command to change my old PLMs address with the new. Is this correct - or is there a better way to do this?

@Bernd_Pfrommer - you seem to be the expert on dead PLMs. Any advice?

For me the way the modem crapped out was that it simply no longer responded. I think I had to power cycle it to get it back to life. This became more and more frequent, until eventually power cycling no longer did the trick.

I had some lights turn on on their own as well at some point, but forgot what it was. I think it had to do with a poll returning a bad value occasionally.

But the biggest PITA when replacing a modem is relinking all the devices. Even if you copy the modem database using insteon terminal, the new modem has a different address, and all the devices out there are linked to the old modem address.

Since I have 100+ devices, I decided I’d rather replace the capacitors. You end up having a better modem than before. So far so good, I’m still running on the original modem with new capacitors. The modem did lose the database when I replaced the capacitors, which was a surprise, but not a problem since I had backed it up before.

Hey Bernd -