IP Camera automation

I’m new to having ip cameras, so here’s what I’m doing so far. Would love to hear more ideas!

• I have dahua cameras which have smart intrusion / human detection.

• I have Blueiris recording continuously from the camera’s RTSP stream. It also provides mjpg / hls / jpg snapshots which is extracted from the rtsp stream. This is used for my wall display and google home.

• Using ipcamera binding, I get alerted when a person is detected within the designated zone.

• When a person is detected, I would show the mjpg stream of the relevant camera on a 24" wall display using mainui custom widget. At other times, the wall display would show photos from selected Facebook albums.

• Also when a person is detected, I would take snapshot images, and send them to Deep Stack for facial recognition. Recognised faces will get announced over Google Home, e.g. “Jack and Johnny are on the front porch | driveway”

• Just for fun, I have items with ga="Camera" tag that contains Blueiris’ HLS url, so I can say “OK Google, show the front porch camera”. Not really sure how useful this is.

I also have a dedicated camera to capture license plates of cars that pass through the road. I haven’t quite done anything with this yet. What’s a good and free way to perform license plate recognition?

What fun and useful things do you do with ip cameras?

How accurate is the facial recognition part?

I’m personally looking into hooking a NVR into OpenHab.

I’m also keen on finding out if there is any kind of access to Law Enforcement Facial Recognition
or similar databases, so that the intercom system can be alerted with a tag “Possible match of wanted fugitive” when said bad man is at the gate ringing the sip video bell. (though based on hollywood movies, technology may not be fast enough to serve realtime requests)