Is my Openhab to MQTT connection broken?

I’m very new to openHAB, more at the looking at it and testing proof of concept.

I’m having issues that I thought was me not knowing enough getting data (temps etc) to show up in openHAB. I was happily making sense of everything until I started wondering.

I have a win 10 SFF PC (don’t hate me :slight_smile: ) on 192.168.1.162 (static IP) with Mosquitto and Openhab working on it. A tasmota device is talking to the MQTT server, and I can see that data using MQTT-SPY on my PC and on the ‘server’. Tasmota’s console is showing data going to the MQTT server.

I assumed it was down to a mis-configuration and I’ve been working my way thru it, with a view to understanding it better… I thought I’d look at the (openHAB) logs to see if there was anything obvious.

I got ; "

> 22:14:26.337 [INFO ] [o.transport.mqtt.MqttBrokerConnection] - Starting MQTT broker connection to '192.168.1.162' with clientid fffbe576-441a-4ef7-93d2-04e58993d0c6
> 22:15:26.354 [INFO ] [t.reconnect.PeriodicReconnectStrategy] - Try to restore connection to '192.168.1.162'. Next attempt in 60000ms
> 22:15:26.354 [INFO ] [o.transport.mqtt.MqttBrokerConnection] - Starting MQTT broker connection to '192.168.1.162' with clientid fffbe576-441a-4ef7-93d2-04e58993d0c6

"

Does this denote an openHAB to MQTT connection issue? Resulting in my not getting any data to openHAB?

I ask this before I start posting the broker connection and things to this chat.

Thanks in advance,

Yes that looks like openhab can’t connect to mosquitto

Welcome!

Yep, this sounds like an issue communicating with Mosquitto. In general, it’s better to just post any config/settings that you suspect to be a problem in your first post. If you’re on the right track, you’ll get a faster response (and others don’t have to ask for them).