Is OH2 right for me? (new home HA, wanting RFID access control)

Hi everyone, I’m fairly new at this home automation scene. I’d like to build up something that meets my geekness yet has the wife-approval-factor. :slight_smile:

I think the wildcard right now is the RFID access control. Would be nice to use electric strikes rather than a touchscreen motorized deadbolt for a cleaner look on the outside. NFC is out of the question as everyone else has iPhones, but they also have HID RFID card work credentials so an iClass reader would work well?

Thanks for any help!!

Here’s what I have existing:

• Insteon light switches/dimmers on ISY 994 (use InsteonPLM binding?)
  • Insteon water leak sensor
  • Wink 1 hub (currently unused)
  • Philips hue 1 hub (currently unused)
  • Schlage Z-wave-enabled door lock (binding exists)
  • Chamberlain MyQ garage door Internet Gateway (use MyQ binding?)
  • Honeywell Vista 15p monitored alarm via cellular module (need to add Envisalink module)
  • IP security cameras using XProtect Essential software
  • Home server (VMWare ESXi) w/Sophos XG and Windows Server 2012 VMs

Wanting to add:

• RFID with electric strikes on garage and side door (ideally all 3 doors)
    • Planned: HES 1006 strike for deadbolt locks, HID/Mifare reader on exterior doors
  • Washer/Dryer cycle finish alert
  • Touchscreen panel for monitoring home status

Should work with the Insteon binding

Probably don’t need unless you want to use it as a gateway to Zigbee or to use as your Zwave controller instead of buying your own. Can integrate using the MIOS binding.

Required if you get Hue Bulbs. I’m not sure if it can be used as a gateway to other devices. There is a Hue Binding for integration.