Is the openHAB platform suitable to be used for a boat?

I am new to openHAB and I apologize if my question is not in the right place.

I would like to know if instead of controlling a house, I could use openHab to manage the devices of a boat.

For example to turn on an engine or a light, or to check the temperature of the engine, or to know the position of the boat.

Thank you in advance for some advice.

Ivano

People use OH in all sorts of unusual ways including on RVs and even some industrial/agricultural uses.

As long as the devices you want to control and get sensor readings for are supported by OH through add-ons there should be nothing stopping you from doing so. I suspect that will be the deciding factor though. I suspect there are not too many boat based devices with an API that works with openHAB.

This sounds like a case where OH could do the task but it is probably not the best tool. A while back there was a thread about having OH running in an RV which is probably similar to what your use case would be. That said, how easy this would be depends on many factors including how all these systems would be connected.

OH is just the software messaging bus that can communicate with and orchestrate many different IOT protocols. So, you would not only need a device which OH installed (a rpi would be sufficient) but all the things you want monitored would need to be connected in some way to a system that OH can communicate with.

Several questions you probably want to be able to answer before you try this:

1. Can the OH installation be on all the time? Does it need to be? If not, does it even makes sense to only have it on when there is someone on the boat?
  2. What devices/protocols are available for the items you want controlled/monitored?
  3. Can these devices/protocols be secured (especially when no one is on the boat)?
  4. Are these particular devices/protocols compatible with OH?