Is there a better way to manage states, like 'home', 'away', 'school holiday'?

I am new to openHAB but already I am loving it and have found so much help on the forums to solve the issues I had getting this far. Thanks!

I have got the basics working OK - using an Aeon Labs Z-Stick Gen 5 to control a Horstmann/Secure SRT321 central heating thermostat and a Horstmann/Secure SSR302 two-channel controller to control the hot water. I have some basic rules switching the hot water on and off and setting the heating temperature at different times of day.

Now I want to get more sophisticated and make the heating schedules dependent on what’s going on in our lives. So for example in the summer we will want a completely different heating schedule, so it just warms the towel rails morning and evening. Similarly, during school holidays we will want to override our normal weekday schedule and keep the heating on all day.

Reading around the forums I can’t see a standard way of defining ‘scenes’ or ‘modes’ in openHAB. So I think I need to define some global variables or define items as switches to record these states. But what is considered best practice? What will lead to the cleanest code? I would love to hear your thoughts and experiences before I dive in and make a mess!

Thanks,

Phil

To represent these states I prefer to use Switches which get set to ON when in that state and OFF when not in that state. In rules that care about the state they check the Switches and do the desired behavior. Some rules also get triggered when the Switch changes state.

For an example of how Holidays can be tracked see this example on the wiki for calculating public holidays.

See this posting I made for how I keep track of times of day which you can expand to track types of days.