Items/Lights are switching when restarting openhab or changing configuration

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: Raspi3
    • Java Runtime Environment: openjdk version “1.8.0_222”
    • openHAB version: 2.4.0

Hi all,

my name is Denis I’m from Germany and I’m new with OpenHAB. I’m running a small SmartHome installation since about two years now. In the past with homebridge, but after this didn’t run very stable and I was frustrated from configuring all that rules and stuff with the  Home App, I did a switch to OpenHAB 2.4 and I’m really happy with that decision. I already intergrated a lot of Hue items, wheater, netatmo, logitech harmony, my 3D printer and a lot of other stuff and I’m just playing with ESP8266 MCU to get some other funny things working.

One thing which is really confusing me, that OpenHAB switches some items when I restart OpenHAB or also when I’m just changing Things- or Items configuration. At the moment I should restart my Instance because I changed my MQTT configuration, but I can’t do that, because my family is already in the beds and if I restart OH now, a lot of lights in there rooms will change their state :wink:

Can somebody tell my why OH is doing that? And is there a way to prevent that?

Thanks!
Denis

openHAB would not send commands when starting up itself. There are some options, why that could happen to you, but there is not enough information yet.

You don’t need to restart openHAB when changing things viy a things file, instead you have to restart the corresponding addon via openHAB console (Karaf console)

Did you know about the two german forums? http://knx-user-forum.de/forum/supportforen/openhab (official german forum) and https://openhabforum.de/ (inofficial german forum - get’s a lot more traffic than the official one :wink: )

I don’t think that I use any rule which could trigger that lights. How to find out what is triggering that lights if OH should not do that?