JS Rule - Error trying to 'require' the Axios-library

Hi!

I am quite new in writing JS-rules. In general my JS-rules are working. But I would like to create a new rule using the Axios-library. The library was installed successfully (I guess).
But when I am trying to “require” the axios library with: const axios = require('axios'); I am getting the error message below.
I am using Openhabian and my openhab version is 3.4.4

Can anyone give me a hint how to solve it?

Error message:

org.graalvm.polyglot.PolyglotException: SyntaxError: /etc/openhab/automation/js/node_modules/axios/index.js:1:94 Expected an operand but found import
(function (exports, require, module, __filename, __dirname) {require=__wraprequire__(require);import axios from './lib/axios.js';
                                                                                              ^
/etc/openhab/automation/js/node_modules/axios/index.js:24:0 Expected an operand but found export
export {
^
/etc/openhab/automation/js/node_modules/axios/index.js:25:8 Expected ; but found as
  axios as default,
        ^
/etc/openhab/automation/js/node_modules/axios/index.js:43:0 Expected ) but found }
});
^
/etc/openhab/automation/js/node_modules/axios/index.js:43:1 Expected ; but found )
});

OH provides a NodeJS like environment but not a fully compatible environment. And certain underlying constructs like require are actually implemented by the underlying Java, not the GraalVM JS environment. So there will definitely be many third party node modules that won’t work. I’m not surprised it has problems with export.

Everything Rich wrote is correct.
JavaScript Scripting is only a NodeJS-like environment that supports much stuff, but it has limitations compared to real NodeJS.