Junkers TRQ 21 T Thermostat

I have a Junkers TRQ 21 T Thermostat in my flat and it has two disadvantages.

• there is an old timer clock that ticks every second which is annoying if you are not used to it (like my guests) :loudspeaker:
  • you only control specific time slots to switch between day and night mode. No differentiation between work days and weekends. :disappointed:

So I developed a controller, to connect an arduino (Wemos D1 mini) to be able to control my thermostat with openhab.

You can find my documentation here:

Hi Christoph,

I have the same thermostat. Perfect to find such a solution. If I understand your approach right, you are using the clock input to control the thermostat. I found out that the thermostat controls the boiler temperature by modulating 0-24V if I remember right. At the end of summer I will give it a try. Thank you to share your informations. I come back to you with a feedback … or questions:-). I am no programmer so I hope I can follow your instructions.

I wish you a nice weekend!

Nice to hear my solution will be useful for other people as well. :slight_smile:

Unfortunately I finished this project exactly when the β€œsummer” started.
So I have no real life experience, yet. :smile:

At first I thought I could use the 24V modulation as well.
But I read somewhere that the thermostat does a little more than just setting the boiler to ON or OFF.
So replacing just the clock seems to be the safest solution.

Hey Christoph,

I have not the same but a similar thermostat. TRQ 21 (I think its just an older version.)
Did you already get some real life experience?

I think i will try to adapt your solution to my thermostat in the nearer future.

Yes, I had no problems in the last weeks. :grinning:

1 Like