Jython / jvm garbage collector question

In jython, consider the following code:

timer = None

@rule("xxxx")
@when("some trigger")
def myrule(event):
   global timer
   timer = ScriptExecution.createTimer(......)

My understanding is that ScriptExecution.createTimer() will create a timer object which will get stored by the timer global variable.

I understand that once the timer has executed, the timer object remains in memory, and because it was assigned to a variable, i.e. something is referring to that timer object, is it true that the Garbage Collector (is it Python’s GC or JVM’s GC?) will not touch it, until such time when the script is reloaded (which invalidates the reference)?

If that were the case, is it true that the only way to make the GC “collect” / free up the memory that is allocated to the timer object, or remove the timer object itself, is by removing all references to it, i.e. do this somewhere:

timer = None

I’m not a developer, but wouldn’t timer.cancal() also cause timer to eventually be garbage collected?

afaik, timer.cancel() would not. cancel() is just a method of the object, just like timer.reschedule(), hasTerminated() etc.

This is what timer.cancel() does:

@Override
    public boolean cancel() {
        cancelled = true;
        return future.cancel(true);
    }

It doesn’t alter the object’s reference count or anything related to GC.

In Rules DSL, you have to cancel timers else they remain in memory until they expire (which they don’t do in time if you gave a bad expiry value).
In Jython, I’d believe you have to do that as well. Assigning null will likely create a memleak.

I’m talking about timer objects that have terminated. Cancelling it makes no sense and would have no effect whatsoever to the GC.