KNX Openhab2 -General Configuration

Hi All,

Im fairly new to openhab/2, and Im working through trying to get Alexa to control my KNX installation. I am self taught KNX hobbyist, and have been tweaking my KNX system for the last 10 years. KNX was mainly set up for control of lighting, but over the years it has started to control heating. One of the reasons I have Veissman boiler at home is that they did have KNX gateway to the boiler, even though none of the technical guys in the UK, knew anything about, and I also had get the gateway specially order from Germany.

As people know who are familiar with KNX, KNX is set up using Physical Address of say a switch and actuator (dimmer perhaps) which is linked with a group address. Working through the my ETS project, and writing a KNX.thing file, I am mainly concerned with listing the actuators. However, I was thinking, is this the correct way of doing it, or should I, also list the switches, however, by doing this, will there be conflicts in openhab, as you will sometimes get the same GA listed under the channel definition, but the physical address of that item will different.

Any views or pointers would be good from experienced people. What are most people doing, just listing actuator. Some of my switches however, do have scenes on them, so would it not be easier to add the switch to the knx.thing, and then provide channels for the scenes?

At the moment I am just working through the knx.thing file listing all my actuators and channels. I then have to go onto the next stage which I believe is a KNX.item file, and then a sitemap, I think?

Many thanks

Good morning,

I have a similar background as you, knx was part of my diploma thesis decades ago and when building our house this was a must have then. I taught me knx and ETS on my own, which is not that tricky as it may seem.

First of all you usually model the actors, which gives you the initial “oh” and “ah” when lights suddenly start switching magically :wink: