Led Wifi Bulbs

Hi.

I am totally new to openHAB project. I managed to install openHAB on my PC, and wanted to add couple of wifi controlled Led bulbs, alltho I can controll them thru my smartphone, I wanted to add the to openHAB. I tried to search for binding/ add-ons to controll the Led lights, but no of them seems to be working. So I dont know if I need the correct lights or if I am doing something wrong?
Link for the led wifi light: Classic bulb shape with WiFi technology | LEDVANCE

If you have any guide or tip I how I can intergert the bulbs to openHAB, that will solve my problem :slight_smile:

Hi Safa, and welcome to openHAB!

Unfortunately, you’ve started with something that’s a little more difficult. I believe the LEDVANCE bulbs are manufactured by Tuya, a company that sells WiFi devices through a number of different brand partners. You’ll find lots of discussion about them in the community, but the summary is:

1. There is no openHAB binding for Tuya-based devices at this time, and nothing in the works (to my knowledge).
  2. There are a few ways to connect to these devices through the cloud, meaning openHAB talks to a Tuya server over the Internet, which then sends commands to your device. However, things are always changing and I’m not sure what the current “best” method is.
  3. We used to be able to flash a 3rd-part firmware called Tasmota onto Tuya devices, and then use the MQTT protocol to control them. However, this isn’t possible with most newer Tuya devices.

Basically, it’s not impossible to control them with OH, but I would not recommend taking this on as your first task while learning OH. Saying that, you might have more software expertise than I do. If so, do a search for “Tuya” and you’ll find lots to read up on. Just keep in mind that these discussions have been going on for years, and you’ll want to read through them thoroughly to see what’s changed.