Lets talk about OH 2 Drawings

Somewhat continuing the discussion from here:

I’ve created an issue to cover this here:

Here is a first attempt at creating something that I’m thinking about for a kind of visual “You are Here” drawing we can use in each of the sections. I would have the full drawing on the overview page and then each section would highlight on the same drawing what is being discussed. I’ve often wished I had a drawing like this to point newcomers to when explaining how all the pieces work together.

Here is the first shot at something to discuss. I don’t know if it is complete (e.g. is there a line between the Sitemap and/or rules and Things or do Things only interact with Items? It isn’t super attractive but I’m no designer. I tried to take my visual cues from the existing drawings.

I’ve attached the base file from draw.io as well if someone wants to mess with it before it gets checked in. This XML file is what will be checked in. I’ll have to see how the existing drawing works (i.e. does it generate the image from source as part of the build or do we just put an image in there and any changes require changing both the XML and PNG).

openhabFeatures.xml (2.2 KB)

NOTE: I already notice that the arrow to Bindings should be a double arrow.

1 Like

[quote=“rlkoshak, post:1, topic:13096”]
is there a line between the Sitemap and/or rules and Things or do Things only interact with Items?
[/quote]I don’t think so. The sitemap interacts with the items, which interact with the rules. There’s no direct line between the two. A rule interacts with items/groups which interact with the sitemap.

But that makes me wonder, perhaps the Items cell should have mention of Groups, too?

Wow there are so many different ways to explain something. I had an inside-out idea in my head:

The user in the middle, his client devices around him, the openHAB host with peripherals on the bottom, connected devices all over.

• Bindings between host and the outside world