Limits of scripting

Hi everyone,
I’m approaching now the openhab3 plattform and am currently trying to understand what I can and cannot do via scripting in the automation rules.

I’m a software developer so I’m not new at programming.

As said before I would like to understand the limits of the in-platform scripting (like Ecmascripting).
My goal is to have a central processing unit that is executed constantly (or periodically) and, given the items status, takes decisions and sends commands to other items to entirely controll my smarthome.

The following questions arose after using a bit the in-built Ecmascripting in Openhab:

• Can I save data in the filesystem (like an array, a JSON-like structure or something like that) from within the script?
    Example:

FileManager.saveCsv(dataStructure.toCsv(), “file.csv”);
  • Can I import any java/javascript library into my scripts? (for example to run a machine learning algorithm)
  • Can I open a socket or connection to an extarnal server to exchange data?
  • Can I connect to a local or remote database and execute queries (select and insert)?
  • How much can my script interact with openhab? Is there API’s documentation that lists all available functions for this pourpose?
    (I mean, what can I do other than managing items?)

If this is too much for the scripting pourposes, how should I procede? Working directly on Openhab code seems too much, but maybe I could create my own addon and integrate it with Maven as described in the documentation.

Any answer partially or fully covering my questions is immensely appreciated.

Thank you!

P.S. At the moment my OH installation is running in a Docker container on a raspberry Pi.

As you come to gain experience with openHAB, you’ll find that it works best as an events driven system. For some with previous programming, it can be hard to get into the mindset at first.
But it boils down to -
“This happened, if X is true do That”