Major Frustration with Vera Integration

I’m a current Vera (MIOS) user and have a VeraLite and about 50 devices. I’m looking at migrating over to openHab and keeping my Vera as the ZWave interface like many others have done. I also use imperiHome for tablet interfaces and would love to keep that interface, or one equal/better. I’ve started out with an Odroid C1+ as my test computer. I’ll also preface with that I’m an electrical engineer and do programming in Java for Android as well as several embedded processors, so this is not my first rodeo regarding computers and electronics. That said, I’m not a Linux user. I last played with it 15 years ago, and didn’t like it then and haven’t had the time to go back. After a few days worth of work, I still don’t have things working, so I figured I’d post here. Here are my thoughts and issues.

I started this project by installing version 1.x on my Odroid. That went OK, and I have it where I can see the demo sitemap from a browser. I then tried to get the MIOS binding working and this is where things hit a brick wall. I have the IP set in the config file, and can use the item generator to get all my items built into a file. That’s as far as I get. I created a testing sitemap and put one item in it (text item for the state of a door switch I hadn’t installed yet). The sitemap shows a spot, but it’s obviously not getting the connection. I tried to get the logging working better, and failed there too.

My first trial was with a 8GB EMMC, which was too small (kept getting OS messages that it was almost out of memory), so I ordered a 32GB. I decided to use the 32GB and try openHab2 instead as maybe it would work better for me. I have openHab2 downloaded and can start it and hit the base website using localhost. However, I can’t hit it from an outside computer - I get connection refused. I’ve done the same things as above in trying to get the MIOS hooked up, and have ended up stalled at basically the same point.