Modbus service Start / Stop

Hai,
Im new to OH2 and i’m exited to use OH2. The installation is quiet straight forward & im using it in a suse OS. I have a modbus controller to which i need to communicate. i’m able to start the modbus service through the modbus.cfg in designer tool. BUt im unable to stop the service. even if i comment the settings in the modbus.cfg file, the polling does not stop.

please help!!

regs,
Chendhir kumar.V

You might need to restart OH to force it to re-read the config. I don’t think this is always required in OH 2 but it couldn’t hurt.

Hi,
Sorry for the late reply. I will explain the problem clearly.

1. I initially configured one slave modbus device reading 2 digital inputs.
    The OH2 started to send and receive modbus requests / responses
  2. I have configured second slave with some more di’s. But OH2 did not
    send the queries.
  3. I started OH2 and after few tries, queries started .
    4.when I want to stop sending query to 2nd slave, I commented the
    configuration code in the driver. But even after several restart, OH2 did
    not stop sending queries to 2nd slave.

I’m unable to control the modbus requests / responses for modbus in OH2.

Please help.

With regards,
Chendhirkumar.V

This is mobus specific so I wont be any help.

There is a bug in Modbus binding probably. When you do changes in modbus.cfg they are transferred to userdata/config/org/openhab/modbus.config file. It looks like that this file is modified well in case you add new modbus slaves into modbus.cfg. But in case you modify/comment out existing slaves the changes are not reflected. The solution is to make userdata/config/org/openhab/modbus.config empty and resave modbus.cfg. After that the binding renew userdata/config/org/openhab/modbus.config. It could be done when Openhab is running. No need to restart.

1 Like

The advice about the caching effects with modbus.cfg is good.