Modbus Things

Hi,

I’m really new to OH after trying to setup Home Assistant but gave up mainly due to issues when trying to set up a Modbus TCP controller.

I have managed to add a programmable controller with Modbus TCP interface as a Thing. Basically I want to do 3 different things with this controller in OH:

1. poll temperature from a single register (64, 1 bit)
  2. add a off/on switch by writing first 1 to register 130 and then after a short delay write 0 or 1 to register 132
  3. change setpoint by writing first 2 to register 130 and then after a short delay write new setpoint to register 132

I am right now struggling with the Things. I have added the controller as a Modbus slave and this is online. After this I added a 2nd Thing as a Regular poll. This is bridged to the first Thing. Finally, I have a 3rd Thing as a Modbus data and bridget with the Regular poll Thing.

I can see these three Things in the Things list. Now when I try to create a new Item and add this Modbus data Thing as a link I can’t see any temperature value in the Items list. This Regular poll Thing is online so I think it reads correctly the temperature data from register 64. All my other items (e.g. TP-Link KP115 smart plug) show their values.

So, what I’m missing?

Once I have managed to solve issue 1 I’ll continue with the other two issues. With these I struggled in HA and finally gave up.

EDIT: I realised one thing. Now when I have tcp Thing, poller Thing and data Thing for reading, do I need to add another data Thing for writing (e.g. to register 64 to poll temperature value). If this is needed how do I bridge it?

Remember, we cannot see anything that you have done. If you are using the GUI to configure things, you can use [code] tab and copy/paste results here to show accurately.

Let’s concentrate on that.
To configure this, you will need to know the Modbus register type.
(64, 1 bit) - Not sure what that means. Integer, float, signed, 64-bit, ordered?