Monitoring on Rasbian - Monit

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: Raspberry PI 4gb
    • Java Runtime Environment: 11 JRE
    • openHAB version: 3
  • Issue of the topic: Monitoring of openhab using monit

Hi All,

I am new to openhab, but wanted to share my monitoring setup as this might help other users.

I have a setup of Raspian with openhab installed (so not the image) for some days now. Reason is that I use the system for other purposes and prefer not to have a dedicated server for openhab. Today the page did not load and the status of the service stated some error of to many files loaded. In this case the service was active, but the site did not load. A restart solved this, but this is besides the topic. In the past I used Domoticz and had monit to monitor if the service is working properly.

I allready installed monit, google for details (I used Install Monit on Raspberry Pi | Lindevs)
sudo apt update
sudo apt install -y monit

After installation; add a file in the /etc/monit/conf.d/ folder, named openhab. In a terminal, use “sudo nano openhab” in this folder. I added the following content:

check host openhab with address 127.0.0.1
start program = "/usr/bin/sudo service openhab restart" with timeout 120 seconds
stop program = "/usr/bin/sudo service openhab stop"

if failed
     port 8080
     protocol http
     request "/"
     for 2 cycles then restart
if 5 restarts within 5 cycles then exec "/sbin/reboot"

This will test the site every cycle (two minutes on my end) and in case the site does not respond twice, restart the openhab service. Waiting two minutes as the site does take some time to become available. And a reboot of the entire raspberry in case this does not work. This does not send out notifications.

Log of monit can be found under /var/log/monit.log

Test: just stop the openhab service (sudo service openhab stop) and monit should kick in within 5 minutes to (re)start openhab.