MQTT Binding 2.4 System Broker "Ghost"

A little history, I’m new to openHab, migrated from Smartthings. I’ve been learning as I go with a no programming experience. (Just a little Basic commadore 64)

In three or four weeks time, I’m running openhabian on a Pi 3 B. I’ve learned Item, Rules, Maps, etc. and tried following the rule design principles

I have my first ESP8266 based sensor up and running and chopped up arduino code running on it it communicating via MQTT.
I installed the MQTT 2.4 Binding watched the videos, read the documentation and the boards but I’m really having a tough time with this. I do not have an extenal MQTT server
My first try at set-up, my Sensor couldn’t connect. I troubleshot. INCLUDING uninstalling and reinstalling the MQTT 2.4 binding.
I finally got the sensor to connect to the MQTT Broker but could get any data into any items.

I’ve been at it for two days and I’m about to give up. so I though i’d start from scratch one more time.
I uninstalled the Generic MQTT thing (including the channels)
I uninstalled the MQTT Thing (Broker)
I uninstalled the MQTT Binding 2.4
Restarted the PI and noticed my sensor lost connection as it was restarting, but re-established a connection. I have no external MQTT server, so I’m guessing there is a ghost of the broker still on my PI

This is my first question ever on the site, my apologies if this is the wrong topic or way to address this.
So the question is:

How can I delete and/or find and correct these files?

I see a complete reload in my future, but I thought I’d ask first

Sometimes you need to clean the cache after uninstalling bindings and making lots of changes.

sudo systemctl stop openhab2

sudo openhab-cli clean-cache

sudo systemctl start openhab2
or
sudo reboot

Post what you have so far and I’m sure someone will be glad to help.

Thanks for the fast reply, I did a sudo reboot, that’s when i noticed the loss of connection and the re-connect. I will try the others.