MQTT Binding matching REGEX in transformationPattern

I don’t know if this is the right place but I have a problem to match something in the transformationPattern with regex.

I’m trying to get the status back from an McLighting Node.

I get something like “OK #4aa044” in the mqtt channel. All my attempts to match everything after the “#” were unsuccessfull.

The documentation for using regex at this point is very little.

Has anybody a idea how to do it?

I’m not very good at REGEX but here is a good tool that may help. https://regex101.com/

Won’t help… Thanks for the hint. From Forum posts I got that the REGEX in Openhab seems to work a little different. But could not solve my problem with that.

Went to JS and a split funktion for the solution. It’s a lot more code but it works

It works a little different in that your REGEX must match the entire String, and it returns the first matching group (i.e. stuff in parens). Normally, you just need to match the part that you want from the String in other uses of REGEX.

Beyond that, the syntax for REGEX is exactly the same. .*#(.*) should work.

Thanks a lot. How can I do match the String so that a String like “OK #FFF333” online after the # is matches an not on an string like “OK ##FFF333”?

I don’t answer the question. You want everything after one or more “#” characters?

.*#+(.*)

You want to ignore cases where there is more than one “#”? Assuming that the string after the # is only letters and numbers)

.*#(\w*)

Instead of using “.” which means any character we use \w which only matches letter, numbers and underscore. So that expression won’t match anything in “OK ##FFF333”.

REGEX is a whole topic unto itself with whole books written about it.

Sorry… I tried the whole day…

In the MQTT Topic can come three (there are more but three for the colors) variations of this String:
OK #FFFFFF (for the first Color)
OK ##FFFFFF (for the second Color)
OK ###FFFFFF (for the third Color)