mqtt-Binding only works after restarting OH2

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: NVIDIA ION
    • Java Runtime Environment: Java™ Web Start 11.201.2.09-fcs
    • openHAB version: 2.4

Hi,

i’m new to OH and i want to control different things in my house with Sonoff devices. After finding out, that there where major differences between mqqt v1 and mqqt v2, my sonoff devices with Tasmota Firmware are working.

The weird thing is: Everytime i edit my .items or .things, nothing is working anymore. If i restart OH with
/etc/init.d/openhab2 restart
everything works fine. Is this normal?

My things-file:

Bridge mqtt:broker:ikarus [ host=“localhost”, port=1883, secure=false, username=“xxx”, password=“xxxxx” ]
{
Thing topic Garagentor {
Channels:
Type switch : Garagentor “Garagentor” [ stateTopic=“stat/Garagentor/POWER”, commandTopic=“cmnd/Garagentor/POWER” ]
Type number : rssi “WiFi Signal Strength” [ stateTopic=“tele/Garagentor/STATE”, transformationPattern=“JSONPATH:$.LoadAvg”]
}

}

my item-file:

Group Garagentor “Garagentor”
Switch Garagentor_Power “Garagentor” { channel=“mqtt:topic:ikarus:Garagentor:Garagentor” }
Number Garagentor_RSSI “WiFi Signal Strength [%d %%]” { channel=“mqtt:topic:ikarus:Garagentor:rssi” }

thanks a lot!

This is a known bug in the 2.4 version of the binding. It was fixed almost immediately after 2.4 was released. It is strongly recommended that if you use the MQTT binding to run at least 2.5 M1. The current milestone release is 2.5 M4.

Being out of the loop for a bit and home automation has been working fine on 2.4. Is 2.5 M1 as solid as 2.4 stable? I’m planning to add several new devices (all mqtt) in the near future and would be nice if a restart on item file change wasn’t required.

As always, thanks Rich!