MQTT <-> BLE gateway binding

I’m quite new to openHAB so please excuse my rookie questions. Over the last days I have developed a little python project that provides a generic platform-independent and bidirectional gateway between a MQTT broker and BLE devices. This way, the integration of BLE devices into openHAB can be done using simple MQTT commands. I currently use it on my Raspberry 3 to control a Lixada SU-750 BLE bulb and to trigger notifications (using my Xiaomi Mi Band 1). However, as the gateway is designed generically it can be used for various applications, simply by using the correct MAC address and the UUID of the respective characteristic you are interested in. It also supports BLE notifications (for example heart rate monitoring or something similar). If you want to give it a try or see some usage examples, please look into my Github repository:

The reason I created this thread is that, in my opinion, the next logical step would be to develop a openHAB binding that makes use of my gateway to (auto)detect BLE devices and allows the user to control them directly, without the need to use custom MQTT commands (whenever possible). My idea for this is to create a binding that includes some sort of library for standardized BLE characteristics (e.g. Heart Rate Monitor) and thus directly allows to support every BLE device that follows the standard. For proprietary characteristics (e.g. step count on Xiaomi Mi Band) one could simply add some sort of mapping between the proprietary UUID of the characteristic and the functionality that is needed to make use of it. This way the binding would allow to increase the support for various BLE devices over time, without the need to implement a dedicated binding for each and every new BLE device.