MQTT Item not working

Hello everyone!

I recently installed mosquitto, zigbee2mqtt und linked them via MQTT Binding in Openhab.

I paired a Xiaomi wall switch and tested all that with MQTT.fx
I get messages like {“battery”:100,“voltage”:3175,“linkquality”:57,“click”:“right”}
So I think this part works.

What I also managed to do is to publish MQTT Messages via rules:
val mqttActions = getActions(“mqtt”,“mqtt:broker:mqttbroker”)
mqttActions.publishMQTT(“mytopic”,“myvalue”, true)

This also arrives in MQTT.fx

Now here’s my problem:
I cannot get it to work that Openhab receives messages from the broker

Item is defined as
String Aqara1_CLICK “Aqara1 [%s]” {mqtt="<[mqtt:broker:mqttbroker:zigbee2mqtt/Aqara1:command:JS(getZigbeeClick.js)]"}

I must say that I’m totally new to Openhab, ZigBee and MQTT and everything I did so far was copy/paste from websites/youtube so please excuse stupid mistakes :wink:

Any help is appreciated

Greeting from germany,
Wolfgang

1 Like

You are using the syntax for the mqtt binding version1!! This one doesn’t know anything about things and their channels!

In order to link a mqtt thing to an item the syntax like {channel="..."} has to be used. The needed syntax for the channel can be copied from PaperUI (it does NOT matter if the thing was created by file or by PaperUI, the correct syntax will be displayed!).

2 Likes

Thx for the hint!
But I’m totally lost with this. I haven’t defined these Things, Channels and Items yet. Could you help me, how to start?

What about the outdated habit of reading the docs?

2 Likes

Yet another way to say RTFM :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

1 Like

I have to admit that the idea was not mine!

1 Like

I just googled the word “docs”. I also used a dictionary. Can’t find anything.
But I will keep searching…

:wink:

You are viewing this with a web browser that uses links. Click the link in that post. :imp:

So, I added a thing:

Bridge mqtt:broker:myUnsecureBroker [ host=“192.168.2.129”, secure=false ]
{