MQTT, Switch Item, Status and Time-based publishing

hi,

i’m an absolute beginner with openhab, so i wanted you to help me.

at first, i got a response from my arduino via mqtt with maybe “01100100” (it’s binary, but a string)

how do i split this value for 8 switches and set the correct status?

the second question.

if i - for ex. - press switch “sw_one”, what have i to do - if possible - that ~250ms later but depented on the status-value an other mqtt-publish-command is send by openhab?

• sw_one pressed -> first command/publish
  • status arrived + time + 250ms
  • 2nd command published
  • status arrived -> set switch-icon and label-info
  • after maybe 2minutes 3rd command published

thanks so much
regards

Use a REGEX transformation. For example the following will give you the third switch:

REGEX(".*\d\d(\d)\d\d\d\d\d.*")

Assuming that the Item is a Switch or a Contact OH should handle the converting the 1 to ON/OPEN and 0 to OFF/CLOSED.

OH is not a real-time system. 250ms may be too fast of a response time depending on your hardware, load, and a whole host of other parameters. That being said:

rule "Switch One Triggered"
when
    Item sw_one received command
then
    // publish first command
    Thread::sleep(250)
    // check Items which receive status
    // publish second command
    Thread::sleep(250)
    // check Items which receive status
    Thread::sleep(120000)
    // publish third command
end

Notice I don’t mention “set switch-icon and label-info”. You can’t do that directly from a rule. All you can do is update and Item’s state. How you configure that Item or how you put it into the Sitemap determines how that Item appears on your sitemap. In other words, the icon and label is controlled by the Item’s state, you don’t change it directly. See the Item wiki page and pay particular attention to the label and icon fields.

ok, but how and where do i have to write it?
am i right that i have to put this in a map-file?