MQTT topic not published?

I’m fairly new to OH… started using 2.5 on RPI3 about a year ago but didn’t get far due to an accident befalling the RPI :slight_smile: then not having time. So I just started with OH3 on x86/Debian.

Zigbee2mqtt = working
MQTT.fx confirms that my zigbee devices respond as expected, e.g. I can toggle the relay output by publishing the relevant topic/payload.

Test config:

As per https://community.openhab.org/t/zigbee2mqtt-revisited-no-more-ugly-transformations/86362 only I changed battery string from float to decimal since the former resulted in NaN.

Things

Bridge mqtt:broker:584e1eaa63 [host=“localhost”, secure=false, clientID=“OpenHAB”] {
Thing topic Tradfri_E1743_1 “Tradfri_E1743_1” @ “584e1eaa63” {
Channels:
Type string : action “action” [ stateTopic = “zigbee2mqtt/Tradfri_E1743_1/action” ]
Type number : battery “battery” [ stateTopic = “zigbee2mqtt/Tradfri_E1743_1/battery” ]
Type number : linkquality “linkquality” [ stateTopic = “zigbee2mqtt/Tradfri_E1743_1/linkquality” ]
}

Thing topic ConservHeater "Conserv_Heater" @ "584e1eaa63" {
    Channels:
        Type switch : state "state" [ stateTopic = "zigbee2mqtt/Conserv_Heater/get", commandTopic = "zigbee2mqtt/Conserv_Heater/set", on="ON", off="OFF" ]
        Type number : linkquality "linkquality" [ stateTopic = "zigbee2mqtt/Conserv_Heater/linkquality" ]
}

}

Items

String Tradfri_E1743_1_ACTION “E1743-1 [%s]” {channel=“mqtt:topic:584e1eaa63:Tradfri_E1743_1:action”}
Number Tradfri_E1743_1_BATTERY “E1743-1 Bat [%d %%]” {channel=“mqtt:topic:584e1eaa63:Tradfri_E1743_1:battery”}
Number Tradfri_E1743_1_LINKQUALITY “E1743-1 LQ [%d]” {channel=“mqtt:topic:584e1eaa63:Tradfri_E1743_1:linkquality”}

String ZBR3_ConservatoryHeater_ACTION “Heater [%s]” {channel=“mqtt:topic:584e1eaa63:ConservHeater:state”}
Number ZBR3_ConservatoryHeater_LINKQUALITY “Heater LQ [%d]” {channel=“mqtt:topic:584e1eaa63:ConservHeater:linkquality”}

Sitemap

Text label=“Conservatory” {
Frame label=“Heater” {