My.OpenHAB and IFTTT questions and issues

I am trying to get a handle on rules and as a semi literate programmer, I decided to lean on IFTTT while I work out some of the finer points.

I decided to write a recipe in IFTTT to turn a light on at sunset. Initial testing with recipies was working using the SMS as a trigger. So I set up the following:

This rule fails to execute. so I check the log and see this:

2015-10-26 19:02:11.453 [DEBUG] [.myopenhab.internal.MyOHClient] - on(): command
2015-10-26 19:02:11.454 [DEBUG] [.myopenhab.internal.MyOHClient] - Received command ON for item Light_MB_Dimmer
2015-10-26 19:02:11.455 [WARN ] [o.o.i.m.i.MyOpenHABServiceImpl] - Received my.openHAB command for a non-existant item Light_MB_Dimmer

Here is the relevant item line:

Dimmer	Light_MB_Dimmer	"Master Room Dimmer [%d %%]"	(Master_Bedroom)		{ zwave="4:command=SWITCH_MULTILEVEL" }

Local control of this item works fine.

So on to my questions…

Is there any tutorial on how to use IFTTT on OpenHAB?

If not, I am guessing that the commands I put in “Command to Send” are much like the actions for sendCommand that are used in rules writing. Is there a comprehensive list of what commands I can used for sendCommand? I am specifically looking for a way to set the dimmer level

As always, thank you for your time. This is a great community

I just double checked my IFTTT setup and it is the same. I just have ON as the command to send, and it works fine. Since the item is populating in the drop down box I guess you have the persistence setup correctly too…when you log into my.openhab.org does it show correctly there? As for setting the dimmer level it should just be “0” - “100” to set the percentage.

Have you looked at the astro binding for this specific need? It would keep the processing on your server rather than using a cloud based trigger and it is really easy to setup.

1 Like